The More You Put Your Feelings Into Your Music…The Better

Just because I’m a “blogger” doesn’t mean that I’m just that. I graduated with a bachelor’s degree in English/Creative Writing last year. I never knew what I wanted to do with my degree and didn’t really even know if I’d use the writing at all. I learned so much more about myself and about the world while in college that I didn’t care what I took from the writing part. That thought was short lived, though, because I’m writing more than I ever thought I would. In reality, I learned more from being a writer and being in tune with myself and my feelings. Hell, I didn’t even want to have a blog website, now look at me.

It doesn’t matter what or who you write about, you write because you’re inspired by one thing/person or another. You make music for that reason as well.

The moral to my message is like the quote says, “When the pain penetrates, the music resonates”–You are typically inspired by pain, either to write or to make music. Our inner feelings and inner voice speak to us louder than any human being. The deeper the music, the more someone will remember/feel/share your pain. It’s the substance of what you’re saying that gets recognized. When you share your story, others relate to that, even if they’re not the same. I’m much more drawn to music that speaks to me rather than all that booty shakin’ shit. I love that stuff, too, don’t get me wrong but there’s a time and a place for it like in the club or if you need something upbeat to put you in a good mood.

Write with meaning, that’s how you’ll be remembered when you leave this earth.

