Hip Hop Saved My Life

The quote I’ve based this post off of doesn’t mean life isn’t about finding yourself because it sort of is. It obviously depends on the life you were born into sometimes but for the most part, we do search for ourselves as we grow. We must figure out what we want to do for a living, for example, and a lot of times we feel like our careers define who we are. I know the career I land in hip hop will be my life and hip hop already defines who I am, even if you don’t see it. But I’ve created the life I live now which is why “Life is about creating yourself.” I’ve always known I was meant to be a part of hip hop somehow but never knew in what way that was supposed to be. Instead, I just let it find me.

Create You

I came from a country little town in Indiana called Madison. I was wearing Jordans, fitted hats, and jersey dresses. Boy, did I stand out. I have always listened to hip hop or R&B because it spoke to me. I related to what it was saying because for young people, it’s a way for us to cope and relate with other people that are similar to us. Music being the way our society talks to us, we need to know what the real message is. Hip hop is not just a genre of music, it’s a movement and it’s not slowing down anytime soon. Every generation knows and will know hip hop. They will come to love it, like my followers and I do.  I wrote about the culture of hip hop here and how it’s impacting our lives now. Check it out and tell me what you think!  https://kaylaprosser.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/hip-hop-and-its-prominent-culture/

I owe my life to hip hop because it gave itself to me.

Hip Hop Saved My Life

