Confidence Will Take You a Long Way

It honestly depends on what your parents instilled in you as a child. I’m the first of my family to leave the nest and get a four-year degree. I was my biggest doubter until I realized I was getting to college all by myself. However, it affected my confidence. I felt like I was alone in this world because only I really knew what I was doing. Confidence was also a problem because of occurences in my childhood, but we won’t go there. I had no financial help or any other assistance/support except for the love of my family and that’s all I needed.

That made me a little more confident to know I could do it all on my own. Applied to colleges, set up campus visits, filled out my own FAFSA every year, bought my books. You name it, I did it all by myself.  But you have no idea how shy and unaware of what I was capable of as a woman even just a year ago. I now live under my own motto of, “I don’t know what I’m capable of until I prove it to myself.”

Shy to Sure

I never thought in a million years that I would ever have the balls to actually be a server. As I said earlier, I was always a very shy girl. But only if you didn’t know me. When I became a good server, I put one more accomplishment on my list. Small victories to you, but huge hurdles to me.

My Small Victories

I’ve been working with a financial institution for four months now and since the day I started I’ve been studying for one mortgage test or another. Definitely no prior experience so I failed the first national mortgage exam because I wasn’t prepared enough. But I kept pushing, kept studying. The second time I was supposed to take it, I had lost my license the weekend before it.  No way I was getting in there without an ID because it’s a national testing site. Second time I took the test I passed! The blood, sweat and tears I put into that studying finally paid off and you better believe that was one of my small victories. The words I put on this blog can’t explain the hard work I put in nor can they explain the weight that came off my shoulders when I passed it. Literally. Besides graduating, this had been the next big accomplishment to prove to myself because it was the hardest test I ever took.

I am currently studying for the Indiana State Mortgage test so that I can sell mortgages in Indiana. When I pass that one, I’m on my way to testing for Michigan. Needless to say not much of a social life  for me.  But I sucked it up and put the time in and FREAKIN’ DID IT! And it was all worth it. I will soon be a loan officer– and since I was never good with numbers, this is a big step in a different direction for me and I WILL be good with these numbers.

Pursue many interests is another motto I live by! As you can see. If one door closes, another one gives you the confidence to keep going after your dream! Whatever that dream may be.

Hip Hop

I’m also working with some local artists by writing about them on this website, visiting them in the studio, and listening to their music so that I can help promote them and their music. I would eventually like to be a manager and boy do I have plans for Peter Haze and AW ThePrezident, who are great local talent that currently have no one managing them. You’ll know who they are soon. I’m in the middle of writing a post on them right now actually. Also another person has reached out to me as well about managing another group of artists here as well. I wish I had the money to manage these people how I’d like. But for now, I’m going to help them get where they need to be by using my knowledge, vision, and resources of the game.

Bottom Line is You Can Do Whatever You Put Your Mind To, And That’s Real! Put Your Hater Shades On and Show Everyone You CAN Do It!

