Drake –Staying True to Himself

A true artist has emerged. His name is Drake. He stays true not only to himself and his material, but to the game. He stays true to his crew, but is also very different from them. Yeah, he’s fairly new and will still be changing as an artist, but from mixtape to album he has stayed himself so far–singing, rapping, telling stories that us young people can relate to. Some of you would rather hear him rap more, and I’m not saying I don’t want that, too, but I appreciate him as he is. Even though he seems to be making music more for the ladies, he also includes emotions and stories about women that men can relate to– best of both worlds.

Singer/Rapper

After writing about my local guys P-IC and Hym, I’ve got to give attention to one of the big names in the hip hop industry. This review on Drake’s Take Care is actually a very simple one. The album could’ve been better, but what album couldn’t be better? I hear people saying that the singing he does is a little too much. However, as long as  Drake’s been in the game, he’s been a singer/rapper. That’s just who he is. If you like one side of him, you may not like the other. As a lyricist and storyteller, his talent is undeniable. And you thought Wayne was taking over YMCMB. Get out of here!

To show you what I mean about Drake’s storytelling abilities, I’ve included some lyrics from my favorite songs on the album that most young people can relate to. You’ll find that in most of the hooks, Drake gets your attention the most. The hook sums up the feeling of the song and it’s the part you remember the most.

  • “I’m just saying, you can do better / Tell me have you heard that lately / I’m just saying you can do better / And I’ll start hating only if you make me” — “Marvin’s Room”
  • “I might be too strung out on compliments / Overdosed on confidence / Started not to give a fuck, and stop fearing the consequence / Drinking every night, because we drink to my accomplishments / Faded way too long, I’m floating in and out of consciousness” –“Headlines”
  • “I know things get hard / But girl you got it, girl you got it there you go / Can’t you tell by how they looking at you everywhere you go / Wondering what’s on your mind, it must be hard to be that fine, when all these muthafuckas wanna waste your time /It’s just amazing, girl, and all I can say is.. –“Make Me Proud”
  • “I’m trying to let go of the past / Should we make this one a double, you ain’t even gotta ask / Because it’s hard to say no, say no / Yeah it’s hard to say no” –“We’ll Be Fine”

 

