Live Life to the Fullest

I know this is a sad topic to build a blog post around, but I feel like it’s an important one. So often we get caught up in our little lives that we forget to live our lives to the fullest or to simply enjoy this life even if it’s a hard one. We get used to getting up, going to work, going to lunch, getting off work to make dinner, chill, then go to sleep. We usually wake up and do this again and again without even thinking about it. It’s the same for a college student, but college is usually a time to live life by the spur of the moment. Not everyone does that, however. I was a pretty boring college student. I did some fun stuff, of course, but if I could go back and redo it, I would change so much. And it’s not just the college days that I would go back and change. But that’s not how life works.

It Can Be Gone in a Second

Just the other day, I had to go to a young man’s funeral. I went to kindergarten with him. I will never forget that day as long as I live. I felt like I was seeing myself lying there. It really gave me  a rude awakening (reality check) because I realized that life can be taken from you at any point. He was so young and so full of life. I remember seeing him last summer at the Madison Regatta, and that same, smiling Ryan Moreland keeps playing in my mind. I can’t believe he’s gone. I went to the funeral procession, saw all the people crying and cried myself, but I still can’t believe he’s gone. I think about it in the middle of the day and just get teary eyed and upset.

Your Heartbeat is a Blessing

Some people like to avoid this topic, but I think it’s important to live your life knowing it can be taken from you in a second because it makes you see your life differently and it makes you treat others differently. Ryan lived his life to the fullest, but he didn’t realize that full life would end up taking him from this world. Only those of you who know how he died will understand. For those of you that don’t, it wouldn’t be fair for me to expose those details. I wanted to bring some realization to some of the young people who think they’re invincible and who don’t think that life can get away from them. It can and it will if you don’t take control and live life knowing your heartbeat is a blessing.

