Take a Look at Yourself Objectively

Because we live our lives behind our own eyes, we aren’t usually able to step back and see what actions we’re actually making. We get caught up in the everyday. We just get so used to seeing out of our own eyes that we can’t see what we’re doing wrong or why we remain at the same level instead of growing into a better person. We have to look at ourselves objectively because we too, make mistakes. We may be better able to justify them because we know ourselves and how to get around even what we’re doing wrong, but that’s not healthy for us.

I’ve been comfortable in being the captain behind this ship of life, but things don’t always go my way. And when they don’t, I have to step back and take a look at myself and see what I’m doing wrong. Is this relationship what I want it to be? Am I treating this person how I’d want to be treated? Am I getting the respect I need from this relationship? Etc. Sometimes when we’re used to be the only one running things, we forget to put ourselves first. Not only do we forget to do that, but we forget to respect ourselves and our accomplishments.

Respect and Trust Yourself to Put You First

That’s the first thing we have to do in order to make ourselves happy! There are a lot of people out there who would rather put others first before themselves. That’s really nice and all, but it’s not realistic. If you do that, chances are you’re not going to be very happy. Doing things for others is a good deed indeed, but doing things for yourself will make you better able to do things for others. And the thing about helping other people is that they may get used to you helping them and then you’re getting nothing in return. That’s not good for your self-esteem. Put yourself first, respect and trust yourself first and the rest will fall into place. I promise. Your life will truly turn around if you’re making yourself number 1. Those other people will always be there (in a sense), you only have one chance to get this life right. Do you!

