Switching It Up

I want to steer clear from the typical Kayla hip hop blog post. For one R & B is sounding more like my music these days because it’s actually more true than hip hop right now. Don’t worry, I’ll definitely writing about that in my next post or the one after that. But there is more to me than music, although I’d marry it if I could. It just makes me feel good, but music is supposed to have that influence on us. Besides music, I’m trying to figure out life, like we all are. I want to use my experience as a way to connect to others and as a way to figure out this life.

Anyway… I’m a young woman who’s been through a lot. I’m not going to spill all the details or anything like that, but am using my experience to understand why my life is the way it is. I often find that God is really showing me signs that he’s working with me to better my life. Sometimes negativity creeps up on me, but I’m trying to get away from that. I’m seemingly negative myself because of what I’ve gone through. But I know that being positive is where it’s at, so I’m getting there. This is one big, scary world if you’re in it alone and alone is not the way to go. Believe me, I’ve done a lot on my own, and sometimes I feel alone because of that, but I’m actually really thankful for how things have turned out.

Discovering Who I Am

I’m finally realizing who I am as a woman. I may not be fully aware of the person I’m able to be until a little later in life, but I’m blessed that I know that now. I’m also realizing I can’t go through this life by myself, fighting struggles on my own. I’ve tried to put off friendships or relationships because I think I need to figure everything out alone. I’ve always had my family there, though, even through the rough times. And friends sometimes are more of a hassle than a help, so I’m just fine with assuming everyone is that way, but I know now that’s not the case. They are a few good people in this crazy world 🙂

Embracing Friendship

I haven’t always been able to embrace friendship because I’ve learned early that you can’t trust everyone. That’s not a positive image of people and that follows you throughout your life, but only if you let it. Two people have really changed my perception of people. They are extraordinary people and I’m blessed that I met them because now I see the importance of friendship. I’m going to carry that over to my other TRUE friendships because  it’s better to have good people around, but all people aren’t good people so you have to be selective. I’m not being negative by saying that but only saying that you can’t let everyone in. Some people really don’t have your best interest at heart. Watch for them and don’t be naive to the fact that they are there. You probably know one you can think of right now. I know I do.

